I never imagined I would be a military wife. Sometimes, I still don’t see myself that way. I am married to a United States Marine. But first and foremost, I am married to an amazing man who I fell in love with at the young age of 15, who happened to become one of our nation’s finest. I am incredibly proud of him. I don’t think he quite understands how much. Because to him, he is simply doing his job. Of course, he is proud of what he has done. But I think that when you live the military lifestyle, you don’t quite see it like the rest of the country does. It’s just your day to day life. Deployments, training, and moving every couple of years are all normal. The fact that he has deployed, speaks some Arabic, and operates an amphibious assault vehicle as his ‘day job’, is all just a part of the job he has chosen to do – it’s all ordinary. Most of the time, it’s ordinary to me as well. Being a military wife doesn’t seem like something exceptional when you’re in it day to day. But every now and then, I like to take a step back, look at the big picture, and realize how amazing he really is and just how proud I am of him. My husband is a United States Marine. He is an ordinary man – the man I fell in love with – and he has done some extraordinary things. He loves camping, fishing, country and rock music, and goofing around with friends – but when his country needs him he is capable of anything. He is disciplined. He is trained. He is a leader. He is a Marine. And while I will always see him as my husband – the guy I like to goof off with, occasionally fight with, want to have children with, and like to stay up late watching movies on the couch with – it is amazing to me that this man is also something so much bigger than all of that, something that will live forever. And I couldn’t be more proud.

Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don’t have that problem. 
Ronald Reagan, President of the United States; 1985

wmIMG_0012wmIMG_0006

2 thoughts on “Ordinary Men Who Do Extraordinary Things

Leave a Reply

