You know when you miss something, more often than not it’s ‘the little things’ in life that you miss the most? When you’ve lost a loved one, all you want it to see their smile. Hear their voice. You could care less about taking some grand vacation with them, you just want to sit and talk. Or when your husband is deployed (at least in my case,) I miss him waking me up at 5:30am while he’s getting ready. I miss goofing around in the evenings. Laughing with him. Telling him 5 times to pleaseee take his crap upstairs and put it away. But I guess that all makes sense when you think about how the little things in our lives really do make up the big picture. Sometimes we only see one version. We pay too much attention to the details. We only see the big picture. But the truth is they’re both beautiful, and it’s a special thing when you can take a minute to appreciate both for what they are.

Now…that’s all a little deep for what this post actually is, but it still all sort of ties together. What can I say, I’m feeling philosophical tonight! :D

It’s been a little while since I’ve gone out and really taken a lot of photos at one place/time, but I’ve been trying to sneak in a few here and there. Even if that means wandering around our tiny excuse for a backyard, or stopping by the marina for 10 minutes just to get my photography fix. It’s kind of my way to stop and take a step back from it all. To see the beauty of this world as well as in my life. To appreciate the wonderful and beautiful things, and reflect on the things that bring pain. At the end of the day, it all has its place.

The details:

And the bigger picture:

Leave a Reply

