Man, oh man…where to begin. Have you ever had so many things going through your mind, that you don’t even know how to say it all? That’s sort of where I am.

I got home to NC on Wednesday, from a trip to visit family in Texas. Unfortunately, the reasons for this trip are still beyond my comprehension. My beautiful mother and wonderful step dad were in a plane crash headed from the DFW area to Galveston on May 28, 2011. They were headed that way to visit friends for the holiday weekend, but they were both killed in the crash in Bryan, Texas. I had friends staying with me for the weekend, which turned out to be a blessing because my husband, Tim was in New York for Fleet Week. He received a red cross message and was sent home, and soon after we made our way to Texas to be with family and try our best to get through this. Below are a few articles and an obituary. They were both such amazing people and were loved by many, wherever they went.

Article

Article 2

Obituary

Since I’m not sure what else to say (without this being a novel), I wanted to include something I wrote for my mom that was read at the memorial service:

My mother was the most amazing person in so many ways. Somehow she knew how to perfectly balance the loving, nurturing motherly role, while also being my best friend who knew me inside and out. I have so much respect for her and the things she did in her life that I don’t know how to put it into words.

To my mom: Thank you for living your life doing things that you loved. That’s something so simple that many people lose sight of. I saw how you loved your travels, your work, and of course your family and friends. You being happy in those things makes me so happy, and I will always remember that and live my life that way. I know that is what you would want for me. Sleepovers, field trips, long road trips, dance and sports events, and so much more will always be in my memory, but the joy you had and the selfless way you lived your life will be a part of me forever.

A few months ago, I called my mom crying and stressed about something I can’t even remember at this point. What I remember is the card she sent me afterwards. It said, “The roller coaster of life can sure take ya for some crazy wild rides…but hang on, cause everything’s gonna be all right!” She signed it “See ya soon, Love you, Mom.” I find peace in that message. She will always be with me, and I know that she will have a long awaited mom hug and her beautiful smile ready and waiting for me on the other side.

Mom and I
Mom and I
Michael (my brother) and I - We couldn't have asked for a better mother

I wanted to end this post with a photo I took while I was in Texas. I have a travel class this summer, so I’m hoping to use this trip and the images I captured as my travel project – a tribute to my mom and John. I love and miss you both so much.

2 thoughts on “Day by Day

  1. How blessed you were to have a mom like you did, your memories will be both painful and joyous, but as time goes on the joy will be bigger. You are so brave and I am so proud of you.

    Cindy Gentry

  2. i have done a lot of thinking about your mom, you, michael, your stepdad, roger, and of course judy. our whole family loved your mom (who we`ve known since she was about 15. i have not been able to come up with the right words to say. i don`t believe there are any. just know that we are truly sorry for your loss. the pain will subside but never go away. let us know if there is anything we can do . know that our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    ronnie and vickie

Leave a Reply

