I always have family and friends ask how school is going and what I’m doing at any given time. It’s such a unique program in that it’s a lot of work, but it’s FUN and it’s geared toward hands-on learning and shooting.

This semester I’m in 3 classes: Commercial, Graphics, and Documentary. The first of these two sort of tie together, combining the technical aspects with the theory and also promoting ourselves (hence, the blog :]). A lot of my work is under the Commercial page, but of course all of us crazy photography students are always getting ‘behind the scenes’ photos – everything from freezing at the yacht basin to the scooter at the school. This one is from our fashion shoot this past Wednesday.

My third class, documentary, is enjoyable on a different level. For my semester-long project, I’ve decided to cover military homecomings. Obviously this is something close to my heart as my husband is a Marine, and I’ve been through two deployments myself. My final project will be a video set to music with the photographs I’ve taken and some video, and I can’t wait to see and share the final product. You can see a few (okay, more than a few…but I love them!) of my favorites in  this post! Soon I’ll have more up on the documentary page. I love thinking that on any given day around the country, somebody could be welcoming home a loved one from deployment. No matter how many homecomings I go to, they will always pull at my heartstrings and it’s an amazing thing to be a part of.

So that, in a nutshell, is what’s going on in my world with school! Obviously there’s a lot more to it and the last 4 weeks of this semester are jam packed with things to keep me busy! Cross your fingers for me that I get it all done in time!

3 thoughts on “Wrapping up the semester!

  1. Your blog is really shaping up Rachel! I am glad to hear you are learning a lot AND having fun as well! These documentary images are really strong!

Leave a Reply

